Gaschurn-Partenen
18°C 0cm

Webcam Silvretta-Bielerhöhe

Open lifts

Silvretta-Bielerhöhe

0 from 3 open Lifts
0 from 1 open Pistes
0 from 0 open Toboggan runs
0 from 7 open Cross-country ski trails
0 from 2 open Winter hiking trails
0 from 1 open Other

Buy your ticket

Your Montafon Brandnertal Card

Contact

We are happy to provide further assistance

You can reach us via telephone or Email from:

Monday to Friday 08:00 a.m. - 05:00 p.m.

T. +43 5556 701 83167
E-Mail info@gsl-tourismus.at

Silvretta-Hochalpenstrasse | © Golm Silvretta Luenersee Tourismus GmbH Bregenz, Achim Mende

Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

The dream road for connoisseurs

Discover one of the most beautiful and popular panoramic roads in the Alps! The toll road is 22.3 km long and runs from Partenen in the Montafon (1,051 m) to the 2,032 m-high Bielerhöhe as far as Galtür (1,584 m) in the Paznauntal over 34 hairpin bends.

Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße driving experience

Mountain bikes, vintage cars and company

 

Route description

The Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße is one of the most beautiful and popular mountain roads in the Alps. It is no coincidence that it is also called “the dream road in the Alps for connoisseurs”. The spectacular mountain backdrop of Silvretta and the Vermunt and Silvretta lakes, which the road passes directly by, cast a spell over visitors, whether driving or on foot.

  • Partenen tollbooth 1,051 m above sea level
  • Galtür tollbooth 1,725 m above sea level
  • Bielerhöhe pass height 2,032 m  
  • Length of the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße 22.3 km 
  • Number of hairpin bends 34 
  • Incline 10 % to max. 12 % in the hairpin bends approx. 5 %
     

You will find an ideal location for beautiful pictures of the Hochalpenstraße between hairpin bends 22 and 23.

 

By bicycle or mountain bike
An absolute highlight for all mountain bikers is the Silvretta-Bike-Safari with the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße and a spectacular natural backdrop along the route. Discover the Silvretta-Bielerhöhe on two wheels at over 2,032 m above sea level!

 

By vintage car
The Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße, the dream road in the Alps, is the ideal destination for an outing with a popular vintage car. When numerous vintage car enthusiasts are drawn to the Montafon each year for the Silvretta Classic Rallye, absolute precision is also a must for the drive along the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße.

 

By motorcycle
Motorcyclists love the 34 pothole-free hairpin bends of the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße. The majestic mountain backdrop with a view of the Piz Buin, the highest mountain in Vorarlberg at 3,312 m, is exciting and makes this curvy experience unforgettable.

 

Excursion destination Silvretta-Bielerhöhe
The Bielerhöhe at the crown of the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße is a popular excursion destination for numerous hikes, tours and other summer activities. Between the Montafon and the Paznauntal, you will be rewarded with a dreamy panorama view of the Silvrettasee embedded in the majestic mountainous landscape.



Current status of the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Here you can see whether the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße is currently open. Whether or not the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße is open is strongly dependent upon the weather conditions.

Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße
  • Type
    Other
  • area
    Silvretta-Bielerhöhe
  • Status
    open


Important information about the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Trailers are not allowed on the entire Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße, there is a night parking ban and a length limit of 13.8 m for tour buses.

Please note that severe construction traffic should be expected, especially in the vicinity of the Vermuntsee. Expect untidiness on the motorway in sections. Traffic lights will also be used in this area.

 

Go to the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße brochure

Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße overview map

Overview map of the course of the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße from Partenen in Vorarlberg to Galtür in Tyrol.

Creation of the Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

A master work in mountains

The 22.3 km long toll road of the Illwerke, Vorarlberg’s third connection with Tyrol, was created while building a power plant. It was completed in stages. The area from Partenen to Bielerhöhe was accessed with material lines for the first time between 1925 and 1930 during the construction of Vermuntwerk.


The first part of the Alpine connection was created in 1938 during the construction of Obervermuntwerk and the Silvretta reservoir: as a construction road between Vermuntsee and Bielerhöhe. Beginning in 1947, Illwerke continued the expansion to the upper Ill and with bridge crossings from Paznaun. For the massive construction site transportation, the historic cattle drive from Bielerhöhe through Kleinvermunt to Galtür was expanded to the plant road: the foundations for the eastern ramp to Tyrol had been laid. The most difficult part of the route between Partenen and Vermunt was missing until 1951. The spectacular road was built, backwards, using an enormous digger used for creating reservoirs through the vertical landscape.
With this, a continuous road from Partenen to Galtür had been created - it was opened to public transportation on 23 June 1954. It was expanded into a two-lane road by 1961.



Useful information at a glance

Silvretta-Hochalpenstrasse | © Golm Silvretta Luenersee Tourismus GmbH Bregenz, Chrstoph Schoech

Silvretta Classic Rallye Montafon

The vintage car race on the dream road in the Alps

The Silvretta Classic Rallye has brought dozens of vintage car fans to the Montafon every year since 1998.
The idyllic roads of the Alps provide the backdrop for a competition that is not about top speed, but about maximum precision. No matter whether it is a Bentley or Düsenberg from the 1920s or a model from 1992 - vintage cars and those more recent have the same chances for victory here.
Time: 5-7 July 2018

More about the Silvretta Classic Rallye Montafon


Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße video

Vorarlberg from above

Gaschurn-Partenen
12°C 0cm

Webcam Silvretta-Bielerhöhe

Aktuelle Situation am Berg

Geöffnete Anlagen

Aktuell geöffnete Anlagen Silvretta-Bielerhöhe im Montafon

Silvretta-Bielerhöhe

0 von 2 geöffnete Lifte
0 von 1 geöffnete Pisten
0 von 1 geöffnete Rodelbahnen
0 von 8 geöffnete Loipen
0 von 2 geöffnete Winterwanderwegen
0 von 1 geöffnete Sonstiges

Silvretta-Bielerhöhe

0 von 2 geöffnete Lifte
0 von 1 geöffnete Pisten
0 von 1 geöffnete Rodelbahnen
0 von 8 geöffnete Loipen
0 von 2 geöffnete Winterwanderwegen
0 von 1 geöffnete Sonstiges

Testtext

Testweise eingefügt

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit. Ducimus hic illo, neque obcaecati sit temporibus voluptatem voluptatum. Aspernatur eos nisi omnis quasi quia quis, reprehenderit sed temporibus. Aliquid, corporis harum illo incidunt minus molestiae, molestias, quam ratione reprehenderit suscipit ut.

Kontakt

Wir beraten Dich gerne

Wir sind für Dich telefonisch und via E-Mail erreichbar von:

Montag bis Freitag 08:00 - 17:00 Uhr

T. +43 5556 701 83167
E-Mail info@gsl-tourismus.at

Silvretta-Hochalpenstrasse | © Golm Silvretta Luenersee Tourismus GmbH Bregenz, Achim Mende

Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Die Traumstraße für Genießer

Entdecke eine der schönsten und beliebtesten Panoramastraßen der Alpen! Die Mautstraße führt 22,3 km von Partenen im Montafon (1.051 m) in 34 Kehren über die auf 2.032 m hoch gelegene Bielerhöhe bis nach Galtür (1.584 m) im Paznauntal.

Fahrerlebnis Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Mountainbike, Oldtimer und Co.

 

Streckenbeschreibung

Die Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße ist eine der schönsten und beliebtesten Gebirgsstraßen der Alpen. Nicht ohne Grund nennt man sie auch "Traumstraße der Alpen für Genießer". Die spektakuläre Bergkulisse und die direkt am Wegesrand liegenden Seen Vermunt und Silvretta ziehen Besucher mit und ohne Fahrzeug in ihren Bann.

  • Seehöhe Mautstelle Partenen  1.051 m  
  • Seehöhe Mautstelle Galtür 1.725 m  
  • Passhöhe Bielerhöhe  2.032 m  
  • Länge Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße  22,3 km  
  • Anzahl Kehren  34  
  • Steigung  10 % bis max. 12 % in den Kehren ca. 5 %  
     

Zwischen Kehre 22 und 23 findest Du die ideale Stelle für schöne Bilder von der Hochalpenstraße.

 

Mit dem Fahrrad oder Mountainbike
Ein absolutes Highlight für alle Mountainbiker ist die Silvretta-Bike-Safari mit der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße und spektakulären Naturkulissen entlang der Strecke. Entdecke die Silvretta-Bielerhöhe auf über 2.032 m Seehöhe auf zwei Rädern!

 

Mit dem Oldtimer
Die Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße, die Traumstraße der Alpen, ist das ideale Ziel für Ausfahrten mit dem geliebten Oldtimer. Wenn zahlreiche Oldtimer-Liebhaber jährlich durch die Silvretta Classic Rallye ins Montafon gelockt werden, ist auch bei der Fahrt über die Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße absolute Präzision gefragt.

 

Mit dem Motorrad
Motorradfahrer lieben die 34 schlaglochfreien Kehren der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße. Die herrliche Bergkulisse mit Blick auf den Piz Buin - mit 3.312 m der höchste Berg Vorarlbergs - begeistert und macht dieses kurvige Erlebnis unvergessen. 

 

Ausflugsziel Silvretta-Bielerhöhe
Die Bielerhöhe am Scheitelpunkt der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße ist ein beliebter Ausgangspunkt zahlreicher Wanderungen, Touren und weiterer sommerlichen Aktivitäten. Zwischen dem Montafon und dem Paznauntal wirst Du mit einem traumhaften Panorama auf den in die herrliche Hochgebirgslandschaft eingebetteten Silvrettasee belohnt.



Aktueller Status Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Hier siehst Du, ob die Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße aktuell geöffnet ist. Die Öffnung der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße hängt stark von den Witterungsbedingungen ab.

Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße
  • Typ
    Sonstiges
  • Gebiet
    Silvretta-Bielerhöhe
  • Status
    geöffnet


Wichtige Information Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Auf der gesamten Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße gilt ein Hängerverbot, ein Nachtparkverbot und eine Längenbegrenzung  von 13,8 m bei Reisebussen.

Bitte beachte, dass vor allem im Bereich des Vermuntsees mit verstärktem Baustellenverkehr zu rechnen ist. Abschnittsweise ist mit Verschmutzungen auf der Fahrbahn zu rechnen. In diesem Bereich gilt zudem die Ampelregelung.

 

Zum Prospekt der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Übersichtskarte Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Übersichtskarte Verlauf der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße von Partenen in Vorarlberg nach Galtür im Tirol.

Entstehung der Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Ein Meisterwerk im Gebirge

Die 22,3 km lange Mautstraße der Illwerke – Vorarlbergs dritte Verbindung ins Tirol –  entstand im Zuge des Kraftwerkbaus. Sie wurde in Etappen realisiert. Erstmals zwischen 1925 und 1930 wurde beim Bau des Vermuntwerks das Gebiet von Partenen zur Bielerhöhe mit Materialbahnen erschlossen.


Das erste Teilstück der Alpenverbindung entstand jedoch 1938 beim Bau von Obervermuntwerk und Silvrettaspeicher: als Baustraße zwischen Vermuntsee und Bielerhöhe. Ab 1947 setzten die Illwerke den Ausbau an der Oberen Ill und mit Bachüberleitungen aus dem Paznaun fort. Für die massiven Baustellentransporte wurde der historische Viehtrieb von der Bielerhöhe durchs Kleinvermunt nach Galtür zur Werkstraße verbreitert: Nun war das Fundament der Ostrampe nach Tirol gelegt. Der schwierigste Teil der Strecke zwischen Partenen und Vermunt, fehlte aber 1951 noch. Mit einem riesigen Bagger vom Staumauerbau wurde die spektakuläre Trasse – abwärts – durchs Steilgelände gebahnt.
Und damit war eine durchgehende Straße von Partenen nach Galtür geschaffen - die am 23. Juni 1954 für den öffentlichen Verkehr freigegeben wurde. Bis 1961 wurde sie zweispurig ausgebaut.



Nützliches auf einen Blick

Silvretta-Hochalpenstrasse | © Golm Silvretta Luenersee Tourismus GmbH Bregenz, Chrstoph Schoech

Silvretta Classic Rallye Montafon

Das Oldtimer Rennen auf der Traumstraße der Alpen

Die Silvretta Classic Rallye lockt seit 1998 alljährlich dutzende Oldtimer-Fans ins Montafon.
Die Traumstraße der Alpen gibt dabei die Kulisse ab für einen Wettbewerb, bei dem es auf höchste Präzision ankommt.
Zeitraum: 04. - 06. Juli 2019

Website Silvretta Classic Rallye Montafon


Video Silvretta-Hochalpenstraße

Vorarlberg von Oben